How to grow a kiwi plant from seed

I recently planted some kiwi , not as described but I will be putting up a mini green house next week to assist in germination
I am not sure if kiwi can grow in a tropical environment , but it won’t stop me from trying!
Will post some photos soon πŸ™‚

Growing Wild

Kiwifruit is so tasty; it’s intoxicating.Β  All my life, I’ve enjoyed the unique flavour and texture of kiwis but never stopped to wonder where they come from and how they grow. It took 24 years, countless fruit salads, and the digestion of innumerous tiny black seeds before I thought about planting some.

After my first kiwi sprouts emerged from the soil, I did some research and realized that Canada, with its uncomfortably cold winters, is not an ideal environment for growing kiwi plants. While fairly hardy, kiwi cannot survive temperatures below -18 degrees celsius. This news didn’t; however, change my mind about continuing to care for my seedlings. I find watching their development fascinating and enjoy seeing them grow into beautiful little vines. Plus, judging by the way our climate has been changing in recent years, it may soon become possible for kiwi to survive a southern Ontario winter.

Whether…

View original post 1,052 more words

Leave a Reply

